History and Rocky Coast Are One of Most Great in Hokkaido -Kamome Island in Esashi-
October 8th, 2016
Kamome Island (かもめ島) with about 20 m in height and about 2.6 km in circumference is a land-tied island in the Esashi town located in the northwest part of Hakodate city and it was named because of its shape resembled a gull. It is used as a port of Kitamae-bune (北前船 * cargo ships that sailed the Japan Sea during the Edo period), and ruins of moored Kitamae-bune (北前船係留跡) in old days is left now. Battleship "Kaiyomaru (開陽丸)" of the late Tokugawa period sank off Esashi was restored and is displayed near the Kamome Island. Visitors can observe this ship for admission fee. Walking paths are built around the island, and Kamomejima Lighhouse (鴎島灯台), Heishiiwa Rock (瓶子岩), Senjojiki Coast (千畳敷), Former Well for Sailor Drinking (北前船飲用井戸), Remained Fort (砲台跡) and Footprints of Benkei (弁慶の足跡) are must-see tourist spots. It takes from 30 minutes to 60 minutes to go around on foot. Free admission. A parking lot is free of charge.
Heishiiwa Rock is a rock of approximately 10 m in height and is known for having a legend. Herrings was kept on poor catching in Esashi that was famous for herring fishing about 500 years ago. An old woman called Orii poured water of a Sake bottle into the sea, then the herrings came in a group, and she saved Esashi people. It is said that the Sake bottle became reversed and turned to stone. In Old Stories of Japan, an old tale is made.
Originally Kamome Island was Esashi Port. Because severe wind and rain attacked it from an oceana wide expanse of sea, the island was used as a natural windbreak and Kitamae-bune were anchored in the Esashi side. There are ruins of moored Kitamae-bune now.
In the north side of the Kamome Island, it was eroded by the severe wind and rain, and became flat like Tatami. The largest place is called Senjojiki Coast. The state that Esashi people carryed a cherry tree to Senjojiki and had a party is pictured on the surface of "Edo Screen (江戸屏風)" in the middle of Edo period.
As for Kamomejima Lighthouse, always lighing was established for the Kitamae-bune coming over to Esashi in the late Edo period. A wooden lighthouse was built in 1889 and a concrete lighthouse was rebuilt in 1951. It is known for seeing a beautiful sunset.
Atmosphere of Kamome Island Can Be Watched on Youtube
|Admission fee||Free of charge|
|Parking lot||Free parking is provided (100 cars)|
|Business hours||Open 24 hours|
|Regular closing day||Open all year round|
|Home page||Home page is here|
|Mapcode||1108 104 725*33|
List of Accommodations
Refer to following websites for the accommodations around Kamome Island.
|Tabiniwa Kuki(旅庭 群来)||
|Hotel New Esashi(ホテルニューエサシ)||